BEFORE THE DIRECTOR OF THE
DEPARTMENT OF PESTICIDE REGULATION

STATE OF CALIFORNIA
In the Matter of the Decision of Administrative Docket No. 193
the Agricultural Commissioner of
the County of Placer DECISION

(County File No. 019-ACP-PLA-12/13)

Vasquez Yard Service -
356 Main Street
Yuba City, California 95991
' Appellant /

Procedural Background

Under California Food and Agricultural Code (FAC) section 12999.5, county agricultural
commissioners may levy a civil penalty up to $5,000 for violations of California’s pesticide laws
and regulations. When levying fines, the Commissioner must follow fine guidelines established
in California Code of Regulations (CCR), Title 3, section 6130, and must designate each
violation as Class A, Class B, or Class C. Each classification has a corresponding fine range.

After giving notice of the proposed action and providing a hearing on April 11,2013, the
- Placer County Agricultural Commissioner (Commissioner) found that the appellant, Marcos
Vasquez of Vasquez Yard Service, violated FAC section 11701 by operating without a pest
control license, and five regulations related to pesticide use: 3 CCR sections 6602, 6678, 6726,
6724, and 6738. Appellant Vasquez stipulated to all the violations except for the violation of
section 6724 concerning required pesticide handler training. The Commissioner classified the
violations as Class B and C violations and levied a fine for each violation at the lowest level for
its class, for a total fine of $1,300. ‘

Appellant Marcos Vasquez (appellant) appeals the Commiésioner’s civil penalty decision
to the Director of the Department of Pesticide Regulation (DPR). The Director has jurisdiction
to review the appeal under FAC section 12999.5. :

- 1 An individual “represented” Mr. Vasquez at the hearing and on this appeal. It is DPR policy to limit representation
in county agricultural commission proceedings to pro se representation, attorneys, and employees or relatives of the
respondent. Appellant’s representative currently has “inactive” status with the California State Bar. Although this
representation is inconsistent with DPR policy, it is recognized for purposes of this appeal because the issue was not
raised at the hearing,
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Standard of Review

The Director decides the appeal on the record before the Hearing Officer. In reviewing

' the commissioner's decision, the Director looks to see if there was substantial evidence,
contradicted or uncontradicted, before the Hearing Officer to support the Hearing Officer's

_ findings and the commissioner's decision. The Director notes that witnesses sometimes present
contradictory testimony and information; however, issues of witness credibility are the province
of the Hearing Officer.

The substantial evidence test requires only enough relevant information and inferences
from that information to support a conclusion, even though other conclusions might also have
been reached. In making the substantial evidence determination, the Director draws all
reasonable inferences from the information in the record to support the findings, and reviews the
record in the light most favorable to the commissioner's decision. If the Director finds
substantial evidence in the record to support the commissioner's decision, the Director affirms
the decision. '

Relevant Laws and Regulations

FAC section 11701 states that it is unlawful to operate a pest control business without a
valid pest control business license issued by the director.

3 CCR section 6602 requires that a copy of the registered pesticide label be present at
each use site.

3 CCR section 6678 provides labeling requirements for service containers.
3 CCR section 6724 requires employees who handle pesticides to be properly trained.

3 CCR section 6726 requires the planning and posting of medical care plans for
employees handling pesticides. '

3 CCR section 6738 requires employers to assure that employees wear specified personal
protective equipment including protective eyewear and gloves when applying pesticide.

The Commissioner may “levy a civil penalty against a person violating Division 6
(commencing with Section 11401), Article 10 (commencing with Section 12971), or Article 10.5
(commencing with Section 12980) of this chapter . . . or a regulation adopted pursuant to any of
these provisions.” (Food & Agr. Code § 12999.5, subd. (a).)
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When levying a penalty, the Commissioner must follow the guidelines provided in
3 CCR section 6130. Under section 6130, violations shall be designated as Class A, Class B, or
Class C. Violations of a law or regulation that mitigates the risk of an adverse health, property, or
environmental effect is a Class B violation with a fine range of $250 to $1,000. Violations of a
Jaw or regulation that does not mitigate the risk of an adverse health, property, or environmental
effect is a Class C violation with a fine range of $50 to $400. (Cal. Code Regs., tit. 3, § 6130)

The Commissioner shall use relevant facts, including the severity of actual or potential
effects and the respondent’s compliance history when determining the fine amount.

(Cal. Code of Regs., tit. 3, § 6130, subd. (d).)

Factual Background

On December 13, 2012, Placer County Agricultural Inspector Kimberley Johnson
(Inspector Johnson) conducted a pesticide use monitoring inspection of Vasquez Yard Service
during a landscaping job at 1844 Hidden Hollow Lane in Lincoln, California. Inspector Johnson
stated in her report that she observed an employee, Jose Luis (Mr. Luis), applying pesticide with
a backpack sprayer. '

The inspection report includes multiple observed incidents of noncompliance at the use
site. Specifically, the report notes that Vasquez Yard Service is not licensed or registered with
Placer County and that Mr. Luis was not properly trained to handle pesticides and was not
wearing personal protective equipment. No emergency medical procedures were posted at the
site, there was no labeling on the backpack sprayers or tip-and-pour container, and no copies of
pesticide labels were present at the use site. ‘

During the inspection, appellant identified the pesticide as Round-Up. On December 26,

' 2012, Inspector Johnson followed-up with appellant by phone call. Appellant had the container
at his home and corrected the name of the pesticide used on December 13, 2012 as Pronto Big N’
Tuf Herbicide (Pronto). Pronto is a registered pesticide (EPA reg. No. 42750-61-2217).

On February 11, 2013, appellant wrote a letter to the county apologizing for using the
herbicide in an unauthorized manner and stating that he stopped using the product.
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Arguments on Appeal

Appellant appeals the Commissioner’s civil penalty decisions on the grounds that:

e The fines levied by the Commissioner were unreasonable and excessive, and failed to
‘properly consider mitigating factors. '

e Appellant did not harm the environment, pollute surface or groundwater, or harm in any

’ way his employees or customers. '

e Appellant did not fail to provide required training to an “employee” because Mr. Luis
was not employed by Vasquez Yard Service.

o The hearing violated the Due Process Clause because appellant is not fluent in English
and no translator was present. '

e The inspector did not see Mr. Luis apply pesticide and “prejudged what she was going to
find.”?

Director’s Analysis

Appellant stipulated to all of the violations except for the violation of 3 CCR
section 6724 concerning required pesticide handler training. The only issues that need to be
considered on appeal are the violation of section 6724, the level of the fines, and the
constitutional due process claim. These are discussed below.

a. The fines levied were at the lowest level for each violation and were not excessive

Appellant appeals the fine on the ground that the penalty was unreasonable and excessive.
FAC section 12999.5(a) authorizes the Commissioner to levy fines for violations of pesticide
laws and regulations. 3 CCR section 6130 provides the Commissioner with discretion to
determine the fine amount for violations and requires consideration of relevant facts including
the severity of the actual or potential effects and respondent’s compliance history. |

Appellant convincingly argues that several facts weigh against large civil penalties.
Appellant does not have the ability to pay large fines and does not have experience with pesticide
regulation because he operates a small landscaping business. There is no indication that he has a
history of noncompliance. He cooperated by immediately halting use of the pesticide and

2 Appellant appealed the fine on the ground that the inspector did not see Mr. Luis apply pesticide. On appeal, the
director must determine if the Commissioner’s decision was based on substantial evidence in the record before the

-hearing officer. The argument is not part of the record because it was first raised on appeal after the hearing. Thus,

the argument was waived and is not reviewable on appeal.
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providing a written apology to the county. Additionally, appellant did not directly harm health,
property, or the environment. As will be discussed below, the Commissioner properly classified
each violation, had substantial evidence to support a finding that each the violation occurred,
appropriately considered the mitigating factors, and exercised his discretion to levy the lowest
possible fine for each violation class.

1. 3 CCR section 6724

3 CCR section 6724 requires employers to provide training to employees handling
pesticides. The Commissioner found that appellant did not provide pesticide handler training to
his employee, Mr. Luis prior to the application. Additionally, the Commissioner determined that
failure to provide such training is a Class B violation because an injury to the applicator,
environment, or property could occur without pesticide-specific training. The Commissioner
fined appellant $250 for violating section 6724. Because appellant did not stipulate to the
" violation of section 6724, the Commissioner’s decision must be supported by substantial
evidence. ‘

Appellant argued at the hearing that he did not violate section 6724 because Mr. Luis was
not an employee of Vasquez Yard Service. Section 6724 requires employers to provide training
to “employees” handling pesticides. Specifically, appellant stated that Vasquez Yard Serviceisa
family business and that Mr. Luis is his brother-in-law and was merely returning a favor.

However, when questioned further by the hearing officer, appellant stated that he paid
Mr. Luis.> Additionally, Inspector Johnson stated that during the inspection, Mr. Luis identified
himself as the appellant’s employee, although appellant noted that Mr. Luis only speaks
Spanish.* Appellant’s admission at the hearing that he paid Mr. Luis is sufficient to support the
Commissioner’s determination that Mr. Luis was an employee of Vasquez Yard Service.

Inspector Johnson listed in her report that Mr. Luis did not receive handler training. She
reached this conclusion because during her interview with Mr. Luis he was not wearing personal
protective equipment and it did not appear that he “knew anything about spraying.” There is no
evidence in the record to the contrary. Further, appellant seems to concede that no training
occurred. Specifically, by arguing that Mr. Luis was not his employee, appellant implies that he
was not required to provide training and so, did not. Thus, the Commissioner decision is
supported by substantial evidence. '

3 (Placer County Agricultural Com. Hearing, File No. 019-ACP-PLA-12/13 (April 11, 2013) at 11:00.)
* (Placer County Agricultural Com. Hearing, File No. 019-ACP-PLA-12/13 (April 11, 2013) at 9:02.)
3 (Placer County Agricultural Com. Hearing, File No. 019-ACP-PLA-12/13 (April 11, 2013) at 9:20.)
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The Commissioner properly designated section 6724 as a Class B violation. Pesticide
handler training provides applicators with information on the proper handling of specific
pesticides including health hazards and emergency procedures that can prevent harm to health,
property, or the environment. Class B violation fines range from $250 to $1,000. Here, the
Commissioner properly fined appellant $250-- the lowest permissible fine for Class B violation -
of section 6724. Thus, the Commissioner did not impose an excessive fine.

2. FAC section 11701

FAC section 11701 provides that it is unlawful to advertise, solicit, or operate as a pest
control business without a valid pest control business license issued by the director. Appellant
stipulated at the prehearing conference that he violated section 11701. The Commissioner noted
that performing pest control for hire without a valid pest control business license is a Class C
violation. The Commissioner fined appellant $50 for violating section 11701.

There is no dispute as to the violation of section 11701 because appellant stipulated to the
fact. The record shows that appellant offered pest control services as part of his landscaping
business. Inspector Johnson observed Mr. Luis applying pesticide with a backpack sprayer
during a landscaping job and she testified that Vasquez Yard Service performs pest control for
hire.®

Performing pest control for hire without a valid pest control business license is
considered a Class C violation. Class C violation fines range from $50 to $400. Here, the
Commissioner properly fined appellant $50--the lowest permissible fine for a Class C violation
of section 11701. Thus, the Commissioner did not impose an excessive fine.

3. 3 CCR section 6602

3 CCR section 6602 requires that a copy' of the registered pesticide label be available at
each use site. Appellant stipulated at the prehearing conference that he violated section 6602.
The Commissioner determined that because pesticide labels provide the applicator with
information on safe and legal application of the pesticide, section 6602 is a Class B violation,
intended to mitigate the risk of adverse health, property, or environmental effects. The
Commissioner fined appellant $250 for violating section 6602.

There is no dispute as to the violation of section 6602 because appellant stipulated to the
fact. The record shows that Mr. Luis sprayed a registered pesticide without a registered label at
the use site.

§ (Placer County Agricultural Com. Hearing, File No. 019-ACP-PLA-12/13 (April 11,2013) at 9:13.)



Vasquez Yard Service
Docket No. 193
Page 7

The Commissioner properly designated section 6602 as a Class B violation. Pesticide
registration labels provide important information regarding safe and proper application of the
pesticide. Failure to have such a label at the use site could result in misuse that leads to health,
property, or environmental effects. Class B violation fines range from $250 to $1,000. Here, the
Commissioner properly fined appellant $250--the lowest permissible fine for a Class B violation
of section 6602. Thus, the Commissioner did not impose an excessive fine.

4. 3 CCR section 6678

3 CCR section 6678 provides labeling requirements for service containers. Appelfant
stipulated at the prehearing conference that he violated section 6678. The Commissioner found
that section 6678 is a Class B violation because, in the event of an accident, emergency response
measures would be hampered by the presence of an unknown chemical in an unlabeled container
and possibly create a health risk. The Commissioner fined appellant $250 for violating section
6678. ' ' ‘

There is no dispute as to the violation of section 6678 because appellant stipulated to the
fact. There was no labeled service container at the use site.

The Commissioner properly designated section 6678 as a Class B violation because
unlabeled service containers may risk adverse health effects by leading to misuse or slowing an
appropriate emergency response. Class B violation fines range from $250 to $1,000. Here, the
Commissioner properly fined appellant $250--the lowest permissible fine for a Class B violation
of section 6678. Thus, the Commissioner did not impose an excessive fine.

5. 3 CCR section 6726

3 CCR section 6726 requires employers to develop an emergency medical care plan for
employees handling pesticides and post the plan at the work site. Appellant stipulated at the
prehearing conference that he violated section 6726. The Commissioner determined that failure
to provide emergency medical care posting for employees handling pesticides is a Class B
violation because it may result in adverse health effects. The Commissioner fined appellant
$250 for violating section 6726.

There is no dispute as to the violation of section 6726 because appellant stipulated to the
fact. The inspector found no employee emergency medical plan at the application site and
appellant admitted that he did not develop a plan.

The Commissioner properly designated section 6726 as a Class B violation. The
emergency medical care plan is intended to direct quick and effective medical attention. Failure
to develop or post the plan involves an adverse health risk. Class B violation fines range from
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$250 to $1,000. Here, the Commissioner properly fined appellant $250--the lowest perrnissible'
fine for a Class B violation of section 6726. Thus, the Commissioner did not impose an
excessive fine. -

6. 3 CCR section 6738

3 CCR section 6738(b)(1)(C) and 6738 (c)(1)(C) require employers to assure that
employees wear protective eyewear and gloves when applying pesticides with handheld
equipment. Appellant stipulated at the prehearing conference that he violated section 6738. The
Commissioner determined that failure to wear personal protective equipment is a Class B
violation because section 6738 is intended to mitigate adverse health effects. The Commissioner
fined appellant $250 for violating section 6738. '

 There is no dispute as to the violation of sections 6738 because appellant stipulated to the
fact. Inspector Johnson observed Mr. Luis spraying pesticide without personal protective
equipment. ‘

The Commissioner properly designated section 6738 as a Class B violation. Failure to
wear protective eyewear and gloves while applying pesticide involves a health risk by exposing
eyes and skin to contact with pesticide. Class B violation fines range from $250 to $1,000.
Here, the Commissioner properly fined appellant $250--the lowest permissible fine for a Class B
violation of Section 6738. Thus, the Commissioner did not impose an excessive fine.

b. Failure to provide a translator after the appellant declined the offer did not violate due
process

Appellant argues that he was denied due process during the hearing because he has
difficulty speaking and understanding English and no translator was present. The federal and
state constitutions guarantee that the state may not deprive individuals of life, liberty, or property
without due process of Jlaw.” Due process requires the opportunity to be heard at a meaningful
time and in a meaningful manner.® Questions of law involving application of the due process
clause are reviewed de novo.’

- The record shows that at the request of the appellant’s representative, the county offered
to provide a translator for the hearing, but that the-appellant declined. Appellant argues that a

7(U.S. Const., 5Sth & 14th Amends.; Cal. Const,, art. 1, § 7, subd. (a).)
8 (Matthews v. Eldridge (1975) 424 U.S. 319, 333.)
’ (Spanner v. Rancho Santiago Community College Dist. (2004) 119 Cal. App.4th 584.)



Vasquez Yard Service
Docket No. 193
Page 9

translator still should have been present at the hearing. The fundamental requirement of due
process is the opportunity for a fair and meaningful hearing. Here, the county offered appellant
the oppertunity to use a translator at the hearing, but he declined. Providing the opportunity to
use a translator is sufficient to satisfy the due process requirement that an individual receive the
opportunity for a fair and meaningful hearing. To find otherwise would suggest that the hearing
officer had a constitutional obligation to compel appellant to use a translator after he declined,
which is not the case.

Conclusion
The Commissioner’s decision that appellant Vasquez violated FAC section 11701 and
3 CCR sections 6602, 6678, 6726, 6724, and 6738 is affirmed. The Commissioner appropriately

exercised his discretion in assessing the fines for each violation, therefore the total fine of
$1,300.00 is upheld.

Disposition

The Commissionef’s decision and levy of fine is affirmed. The Commissioner shall
notify Appellant Vasquez of how and when to pay the total fine of $1,300.00.

. Judicial Review

Under FAC section 12999.5, Appellant may seek court review of the Director’s decision
within 30 days of the date of the decision. Appellant must file a petition for writ of mandate with
the court and bring the action under Code of Civil Procedure section 1094.5.

- STATE OF CALIFORNIA
DEPARTMENT OF PESTICIDE REGULATION

Dated: %!%{ 3 | By: B,u;am f%ﬁa/?'\

Brian Leahy, Director




