
Agricultural Civil Penalty NOPA Template 

[County Letterhead] 

DATE: 

FILE NO.: 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED ACTION (NOPA), NATURE OF VIOLATION, AND RIGHT 
TO REQUEST HEARING 

TO:  Respondent Name  
License/Certificate Number 
Attn:  
Address  
City, State, Zip Code 

You are hereby notified that the Agricultural Commissioner for the County of ______ proposes 
to fine you, ____, a _________ civil penalty of $__________ for violating [California Food and 
Agricultural Code (FAC) section ____, Labor Code section 1695(a), and/or Title 3 California 
Code of Regulations) (3 CCR) section _____] by [brief recitation of facts]. The authority for this 
action is granted to the County Agricultural Commissioner pursuant to the provisions of section 
12999.5 of the FAC. [ If appropriate immediately after recitation of violation with multiple 
counts: Under the authority of FAC section 12996.5(b), the Commissioner proposes to charge 
you with ___ counts of violating ___ at $_____ per violation.] 

FACTUAL CIRCUMSTANCES 

VIOLATION 

PENALTY 

ENCLOSURE(S) 

A copy of the text of FAC section 12999.5, 3 CCR, section 6130, [and FAC section(s) ____, 
Labor Code section 1695(a), and/or 3 CCR section(s)_____] is enclosed for your reference. 

You May Review the Evidence Against You  
You are entitled to review the Commissioner’s evidence supporting these charges during regular 
business hours at the office of the _____ County Agricultural Commissioner, located at   
in  , California. We will provide one copy of the case file.  
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You May Request a Hearing and Present Evidence at the Hearing 



Agricultural Civil Penalty NOPA Template 

You may request a hearing to review the Commissioner’s evidence, and to present any evidence, 
oral or written, on your behalf. You are not required to be represented by legal counsel at the 
hearing. Your attorney may accompany you and represent you if you wish. Please read the 
enclosure “Preparing for Your Pesticide Administrative Civil Penalty Hearing” for further 
information. You will be provided a written decision of the Commissioner’s finding. Although 
not required by the authorizing statute, a tape-recording will be made of the hearing proceedings. 
If you require a translator at the hearing, you must inform the Commissioner within __ days 
before the scheduled hearing date.  

How to Request a Hearing - Failure to Request – FAC section 12999.5 
A hearing in this matter will be scheduled and held at the office of the County Agricultural 
Commissioner, located at the above noted address, if you request a hearing by signing, dating, 
and returning the enclosed Hearing Request (or a hearing request letter) within 20 days of 
receipt of this Notice of Proposed Action. Failure to timely request a hearing is a waiver of the 
right to a hearing and the Commissioner may take the action proposed in this notice without a 
hearing. Further, failure to request a hearing is a waiver of your right to appeal the 
Commissioner’s decision (see Appeal Rights After Hearing). 

Stipulation and Waiver to Order – FAC section 12999.5 
If you do not wish to request a hearing to contest the charges and proposed action, you may 
stipulate (agree) to the enclosed Order by dating, signing, and returning the enclosed Stipulation 
and Waiver to Order within 20 days of receipt of this Notice of Proposed Action. 

Appeal Rights After Hearing – FAC section 12999.5 
Should you disagree with the Commissioner’s Decision, you may request an appeal to the 
Director of the Department of Pesticide Regulation (DPR) within 30 days of receiving the 
Commissioner’s Decision and Order. However, you waive these appeal rights if you do not 
request and attend the hearing at the scheduled time and date, or if you fail to request an appeal 
within the 30-day time frame. 

The request for appeal must be mailed to the Director of the Department of Pesticide Regulation 
(Director), 1001 I Street, P.O. Box 4015, Sacramento, California 95812-4015. 

The request for appeal: 

1. Must be signed by you or your authorized agent; and
2. Must state the grounds for the appeal; and
3. Must include a copy of the Commissioner’s Decision and Order; and
4. Must be filed or mailed to the Commissioner at the same time you mail it to the

Director.

Failure to follow any of the above requirements may affect your right to appeal. 

The Director will render a written decision within approximately 45 days after receipt of your 
appeal, or as soon thereafter as practical. 
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[The following three notices may or may not apply to the circumstances of the NOPA – use only 
those notice(s) that apply to the particular situation:] 
Pesticide Incident Reimbursement Notice - FAC section 12997.5  
Any person found in violation of pesticide laws and regulations that resulted in illness or injury 
requiring emergency medical transport or emergency medical treatment of any individual, in a 
non-occupational setting, from a pesticide used in the production of an agricultural commodity 
shall be liable to the individual harmed or to the medical provider for the immediate costs of 
uncompensated medical care from acute injuries and illnesses of the exposed individual. 

Timely Reimbursement - Penalty Offset and Proof Notice – FAC sections 12996.5 and 
12997.5  
If you offer to reimburse, or have already reimbursed, the immediate medical costs for acute 
medical illnesses and injury, the Commissioner may reduce the proposed administrative civil 
penalty by an amount up to fifty percent. You must request a hearing and provide proof at the 
hearing of immediate reimbursement in order for the Commissioner to consider reducing the 
penalty. 
 
Schools Notice – FAC section 12999.5(b)  
If you receive a civil penalty for pesticide drift in a school area subject to FAC section 11503.5 
that results in a Class A violation as defined in 3 CCR section 6130, the Commissioner shall 
charge a fee, not to exceed fifty dollars ($50), for processing and monitoring each subsequent 
pesticide application that may pose a risk of drift, until you have completed 24 months without 
another Class A violation (as defined by 3 CCR section 6130). 
 

Commissioner Signature  
Commissioner’s Name Date 
Commissioner’s Official Title  
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